World Series of Poker

Poker is becoming increasingly popular around the world. A World Series of Poker is held every year, with the final event being held in Las Vegas, where the winner can win millions of dollars. The televising of Poker has raised it to a quasi-sporting event.

Word Series Of Poker Logo

World Series of Poker Logo

2016 World Series of Poker

Contestants resulting from a series of WSOP qualifying poker tournaments held throughout the year participated in the WSOP main events. These were held during the summer at the RIO All-Suites Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas. At the main events the number of contestants were reduced from 6,737 to the final 9. Final table play to determine the winner was held at the Rio starting
on Oct. 30, 2016.

The 2016 Final 9 are shown below.

2016 World Series Of Poker Final 9

2016 World Series of Poker Final 9

Griffin Benger (Canada), Vajtech Ruzica (Czech Republic), Fermando Pons (Spain), Qui Nguyen (USA), Cliff Josephy (USA), Michael Ruane (USA), Gordon Vayo (USA), Kenny Hallert (Belgium), Jerry Wang (USA)

2016 WSOP Champion

2016 WSOP Champion Qui Nguyen

2016 WSOP Champion
Qui Nguyen

Qui Nguyen won the no-limit Texas Hold'em main event and became the 2016 WSOP champion. Qui won $8 million. Gordon Vayo finished second and won $4.6 million. Third place winner, Cliff Josephy walked away with $3.5 million.

In 2016 the World Series of Poker final event was broadcast live with a 15 second delay, by ESPN.

Both the WSOP and the RIO All Suites Hotel & Casino are owned by Harrah's Entertainment Inc. Harrah's obtained the rights to the Word Series of Poker when they purchased the Binion's Horeshoe Casino in 2004.

World Series Of Poker Champions

The winners of the World Series of Poker over the years from 2000 to 2015 are shown below.

World Series Of Poker Champions
Year No. of Entrants Champion Top Prize, $
2016 6737 Qui Nguyen 8,000,000
2015 6240 Joe McKeehen 7,680,000
2014 6683 Martin Jacobson 10,000,000
2013 6352 Ryan Riess 8,361,570
2012 6598 Greg Merson 8,530,000
2011 6865 Pius Heinz 8,720,000
2010 7319 Jonathan Duhamel 8,944,000
2009 6494 Joseph Cada 8,550,000
2008 Peter Eastgate 9,100,000
2007 6358 Jerry Yang 8,250,000
2006 8773 Jamie Gold 12,000,000
2005 5619 Joe Hatchmen 7,500,000
2004 2576 Greg Raymer 5,000,000
2003 839 Chris Moneymaker 2,500,000
2002 631 Robert Vorkonyi 2,000,000
2001 613 Juan Carlos Mortensen 1,500,000
2000 512 Chris Ferguson 1,500,000

The WSOP Circuit has 2 Stops in Atlantic City.

WSOP circuit events are held at Harrah's and Caesars.

Book - Cowboys Full, The Story of Poker